London Symphony Orchestra Concert

LSO Wind Ensemble
Nicolò Umberto Foron  conductor

Richard Strauss Serenade in E-flat major for 13 Wind Instruments
Jonathan Dove Figures in the Garden
Richard Strauss Suite in B-flat major for 13 Wind Instruments

Broadcasted live on BBC Radio 3



From the LSO website:

The youthful wind music of Richard Strauss meets Jonathan Dove’s very English salute to Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: unbridled charm from the virtuoso players of the LSO Wind Ensemble.  

The Programme

From his brilliant youth to his serene old age, Richard Strauss revered the music of Mozart, and he never missed an opportunity to dress up in Amadeus’ clothes. His Serenade and Suite for Wind Instruments show the young genius at his most irresistible charming, tuneful and bubbling over with fantasy and fun. A century later Jonathan Dove created his own homage to Mozart: an enchanting wind serenade that imagines the characters from The Marriage of Figaro picnicking in an English country garden.  

The Performers

Taken together, they add up to a magical lunchtime with the musicians of the LSO’s world-renowned wind section – 13 top-flight players, conducted by Nicolò Foron, winner of the 2023 Donatella Flick LSO Conducting Competition.  


22. September 2023


13:00 Uhr


LSO St. Lukes
LSO St. Lukes